Choconana

14 Oct

Oh na na, what’s my name?

I believe Choconana or better known as Choconashit is the very first cake I baked all alone. Right? I remembered I helped Mama in baking birthday cakes i.e. blueberry cake and strawberry cake but that was ages ago. By helping I mean not so much on measuring or baking but more on busybody-ing and decorating of course.

So on one fine day as I was busy bloghopping, I found a food blog that caught my interest. I read all her entries in a short span of time. I can’t exactly remember if I was still studying or am already working but yes, I was that free to read and read! This is where I found the choconana (or chocanana) cake’s recipe. 🙂

I don’t think I have the picture of the whole cake on the first try but I saved a photo back then. (Old photo from old memory!)

As you can see from the picture, it looks like shit alright! Hence the name “Choconashit”. Sometimes I think the “na” in Choconashit stands for my name.. I wonder huh.

But hey don’t judge the book by its cover! It taste quite nice right? Heavenly nice, yes? YES I know.

I tried baking this twice, thrice but I never get it right like the first time. Despair. Disappointed. Suicidal, not! Funny thing is, I double the ingredients for both second and third try. The nerve! Luck wasn’t on my side then and I was too over-confident.

The last I tried it was quite a success. Though I know deep in my heart that it just didn’t taste the same. I baked one whole cake (no picture!) and the remaining batter I baked them into cupcakes!

I think they look pretty!

 

Choconana Cake (adapted from Ovenhaven with slight edits)

2 cups sugar
1 3/4 cups cake flour
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs
3 mashed medium bananas (or more)
1 cup warm water
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup oil
1 tsp vanilla extract

  1. Preheat oven to 180C. (and prepare cake tin by lightly grease it and line bottom with parchment paper.)
  2. Sift and whisk cake flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder and salt together. Set aside.
  3. In another bowl, whisk eggs, mashed bananas, water, milk, oil and vanilla. (I don’t mashed the banana too hard cause I prefer chunky bananas in the cake and I used more than 3 bananas!)
  4. Add the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, and stir until just combined.
  5. Bake at 180C for 35-40mins (or till the toothpick come out clean. Very important cause I underbaked most of the times! :()
  6. Cool the cake completely and cut into two layers. Place both layers cut-side up and spread whipped chocolate ganache filling over the layers.
  7. On one layer, arrange rings of banana slices (or caramelized bananas) onto the layer. Sandwich the layers together and frost the whole cake with a chocolate ganache coating.

P.S. By now you can see how unsuccessful I am in baking and in taking good quality photos.

Leave a Reply

