Butterscotch Blondies

31 Oct

Last week, I was craving for sweet caramel/butterscotch. Just happened to see/remember recipes containing caramel/butterscotch around.

1) Bakerella’s Triple Chip Cookies

2) Sprinkle Bakes’s Triple Salted Caramel Cupcakes

3) Ovenhaven’s Butterscotch Chips Blondies

 4) Uhmm Famous Amos butterscotch cookies (my all-time favourite!)

While re-reading all the recipes/methods, I then decided on Ovenhaven’s because it’s so much easier to do! With her advice, I searched for butterscotch morsels at Cold Storage on Friday’s evening. (Well, I also bought 100g of butterscotch cookies at Famous Amos hehe)

Attempt at picture taking of the blondies:-

No need to use mixer. Basically, it’s throw everything together in a bowl kind of method. Fail-proof I think.

I sat in front of the oven to make sure that things go well. Haha. I was worried I fail again cause my batter doesn’t seem to flatten equally.

From here onwards I realised that the batter will do its own work. Began to relax a little.

Can’t believe it rises because there’s no baking powder/soda in the ingredient!

Since it’s quite shiny, I greedily took out the pan.

Okay I then realised it’s not as shiny as Ovenhaven’s! I might have took it out 5 minutes early.. *sigh*

Preparing to cut after the blondies cool down. The smell is soo tempting!

Cut them into bite-sized pieces. A bit fudgy looking. Maybe I underbake it, but I kind of like the fudgy taste/feeling.

Recipes as follows (adapted from Ovenhaven):-

113 grams butter, melted
3⁄4 cup light brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
1 cup all-purpose flour
3⁄4 cup butterscotch chips
Handful of chopped almond

Grease an 8×8 pan. (I use parchment paper to be on the safe side. I do not have 8×8 pan so I doubled up the ingredients and uses 12×10 if I’m not wrong).) Preheat the oven to 180°C (375°F).
Mix the melted butter with brown sugar until fully combined. Beat in the egg and vanilla.
Stir in the flour, followed by the butterscotch chips.
I also sprinkle chopped almond on top.
Bake for 20-25 minutes, until the surface is crackly and shiny.

The next time I’m making this, I’m cutting down the brown sugar to 1/2 cup cause 3/4 cup is just too sweet. According to Luqman, it taste like Indian goodies. In future, maybe I will throw in some chocolate chips and almond slice in the batter as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

