French Macarons – Swiss Meringue Technique

29 Nov


If I’m not wrong, it all begins from Carousel at Royal Plaza on Scotts. Or maybe earlier. Adek and I have this certain fascination or rather, interest on French Macarons. Adek’s first try in baking them was a, uhm, success. (Well, that’s according to her. hehe.) Second try was done together with me and it was horrendous. Third try was okay but no feet! Can’t believe these small goodies can be so hard to bake! See here for more info on these troublesome cookies.

Mama always told us to bake only when we’re not tired or in a rush. I think she is just annoyed at us for wasting her ingredients when we failed (miserably). So after much “research”/googling on this tiny, delicate macarons, I chose to follow Bisous À Toi‘s recipe. Probably because Mama has been reading her blog religiously everyday and probably because her blog has the prettiest pictures!

Here’s the ingredients (recipes from Bisous À Toi):-

Swiss Meringue
80g egg white (at room temperature and it’s aged egg white)
65g caster sugar

80g ground almond
140g icing sugar
1/2tsp lemon juice

Method:-

1. Line 3 to 4 baking trays with baking sheet. (or was it parchment paper?)

2. Blend icing powder and ground almond together in a food processor to get a fine texture. Then sift icing sugar and almond together and set aside. (I find almond powder difficult to sift so blend it thoroughly.)


3. Pour sugar and egg white into a heatproof pan and place it over a saucepan of simmering water.

4. Stir constantly until sugar has dissolved and the mixture is warm to the touch (about 50 to 55C).

5. Pour the egg white and lemon juice into the mixing bowl with the whisk attachment and beat on medium-high speed until soft peaks then add in the powder colouring. (I did not add in any powder colouring cause I did not have any at that time. Bought a small bottle of red colouring powder yesterday! Can’t wait to try it!)


6. Continue to beat until the egg white has cooled down and it look smooth and shiny. (By this time I was already afraid I might either under-beat or over-beat!)

7. Fold in the sifted mixture in 4 portions into the meringue. Do not over fold batter until it turn watery, batter should be slightly thicker than cake batter. (I throw the sifted mixture in 1 shot as I did not want to over fold the batter.)

8.Spoon batter into a piping bag and pipe it. (I did not make any circle imprint cause I was lazy hence the different sizes of circles above.)

9.Let the macarons  rest for 45mins to 1 hour. (Initially I thought the feet will grow during this rest period but I was wrong! Anyway, I increase the rest time because my 1st tray was ugly – see below and it’s 15 mins different from 2nd tray.)

10.Preheat oven to 150C. (Chose heat from above and on the fan inside. This is for my oven.)

11.Bake a tray at a time for 20-25mins, depend on individual oven. (Mine was baked for 20 mins.)

1st tray in

1st tray: Did you see that!! Volcanoes! I found out that the feet grow upwards!

1st tray: My heart broke into pieces. Adek said that this is the worst ever! (compare to her 3 tries!)

1st tray: Down the drain. 😥

2nd tray in: Oh wow did you see the feet! The feet!!! (Who cares if it’s lopsided.)

2nd tray: Lopsided and funny shapes macarons. But hey, feet!!

2nd tray: Still jumping up and down. Full of excitement.

3rd tray in: With confidence now. Sprinkle my glitter. Can you see the glitter?

3rd tray: There’re two volcanoes erupting but hey look, perfect circle with pretty feet!

3rd tray: 😀

12.Remove macarons and cool on a wire rack. (I didn’t cool them on a wire rack though. If you’re having difficulty removing the shells, spray a little water (mist) under baking sheet.. let it sit for a few sec and peel it off.)

Instead of making chocolate ganache, I just put nutella as the filling. Equally yummy I believe! Here goes my ugly pictures of macarons:-

With glitter on the baking sheet.

Lonely macaron with slight bump.

A group of imperfect macarons representing us humans. Hee.

Into the container you go!

Last picture.

These macarons last for a day. All is gone now. 😦 This recipe made around 50-60 shells depending on their sizes. The smaller the better! 🙂

6 Responses to “French Macarons – Swiss Meringue Technique”

  1. edi December 2, 2011 at 09:36 #

    hye liyanah,
    i got here from rima’s blog.. really enjoyed yr entry, so fun and funny! cant stop smiling.. dont worry, after a few tries u’ll get the ‘art’ of it.. i, however, have given up.. well, almost! 😀
    happy baking!

    edi

    • Liyanah December 2, 2011 at 12:33 #

      Hi Edi!
      Hehe I can only hope I get the art of it! 🙂

      Anwy, thank you!

  2. MAMA December 2, 2011 at 10:04 #

    hei…u did a great job by snapping dis maccaroons step by step… funny n interesting too…im Mama with my own writing in mamamunny.blogspot.com … nice to hear from u soon…

    • Liyanah December 2, 2011 at 12:48 #

      Hi Mama!
      Thank you for reading! Lovely blog you have there 🙂

  3. Simonne September 4, 2012 at 09:14 #

    hi,interesting to know the swiss meringue for french macaron.. so do you find , does it make the shell looks better?

    • Liyanah September 5, 2012 at 22:17 #

      Hi Simonne,

      So far I have only done using swiss meringue so I can’t really compare. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

