Molten Chocolate Lava Cake

4 Dec

Few weeks earlier, while Mama and I were at Phoon Huat, we bought a box of ramekin (contains 4 bowls). Obviously since then, we’ve been making plans to make this absolute delish cake! (I even made plans to make  crème brûlée! Well, a girl can only dream right.)

So yesterday, while we happened to be near Phoon Huat again, Mama and Mun bought another box of ramekin (contains 2 set) and a new digital weighing scale. Since it’s a Saturday and I’m free, I googled Molten Chocolate Lava Cake recipes – the easiest one of course! Besides, Mun has been wanting to eat them!

The Pioneer Woman’s blog, recipe and picture caught my eye but unfortunately, in the recipe it requires 4 squares of chocolate.  *Insert big sigh here cause I have no idea what’s 4 squares of chocolate!! A pity cause the recipe seems easy!

Anyway, found another easy recipe from Noob Cook! Since I’m pretty much a noob myself, why not!

Ingredients
100g dark chocolate – cut to small cubes
100g unsalted butter – cut to small cubes
2 eggs
50g caster sugar
20g self-raising flour

To decorate (optional)
icing sugar and small sieve
berries
vanilla ice cream

Sidetrack for awhile, I just noticed that this recipe makes 3 6oz ramekin cakes. I don’t know why I can be so dumb sometimes!! I thought it is for 6 cakes. You’ll see why later!

Method

1. Grease your ramekins with some melted butter so that the cake will come off cleanly when it is baked. (I even sprinkle some sugar around it for safety precaution. I also read that you can sprinkle some flour too.)

Like I said earlier, I thought this recipe is for 6 cakes.

2. Preheat oven to 180C for about 10 mins before baking. (I’m a very slow person when it comes to baking so I only preheat the oven after microwave-ing chocolate and butter.)


3. Melt dark chocolate and butter using either the microwave, a hot water bath or a double boiler. (I microwaves them cause it’s easier.)


4. Beat the eggs and sugar till the mixture turns pale and frothy.

5. Pour melted chocolate/butter you prepared in step 1, into the egg mixture prepared in step 2. Stir in the flour. Use a spatula to mix everything evenly.

Doesn’t even reach 1/2! And I’m a messy worker. Tsk tsk.

6. Fill the ramekin almost 3/4 full with the chocolate mixture and bake for about 10 minutes. Remember: The cake is deliberately slightly undercooked so as to achieve its ideal consistency which is runny in the middle (key word: lava cake).

Did you see what I see? :/
Show you a little closer. See! Sunken cake! 😦

7. When it is baked, remove ramekin from oven and let cool for 1-2 minutes. Use a knife to gently loosen the edges. Carefully invert the cake onto serving plate.

6 short Molten Chocolate Lave Cake! How “lava”?!
Not so “lava”??

So what’s the verdict you asked? Let’s cut the cake!

Voila! Wahahaha. Slight goey chocolate though!

Last note: This recipe makes 3 cakes, I repeat, 3 cakes! 🙂

 

P.S. I’m sorry you didn’t get to taste them, Mun!

Leave a Reply

