Chocolate Chip Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

25 Dec


Happy Holidays! 🙂 This time of the year is always so fun with public holidays; especially if it falls on Friday or Monday and hence the long weekends. Plus it’s also the time to clear leaves! More rest time for me.


Yesterday I found out that we had 3 bundle of hamburger buns that due, uhm, today. So I decided to make some bread (& butter) pudding. Little did I know that Mun had planned to make her version of Burger Ramly. Hehe. By the time she’s out and ready to fry some beef patties, I already used 2 bundle of buns. Sorry!

Anyway, I doubled up the recipe cause I thought I would be using the said 3 bundle of buns. Here’s the recipe adapted from Ovenhaven:

Ingredients
For bread pudding:
2 bundle of buns = 8 buns, cubed or torn into chunks
2 egg
2 cups of milk
6 teaspoons sugar
1⁄2 cup of mini chocolate chips

But for the sauce, I did not double the ingredients up. I find them to be more than enough.

For vanilla sauce:
4 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon flour
1 egg
1 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla essence

Method
For bread pudding:
1. Preheat oven to 170°C.

2. Place half of the bread pieces in a casserole dish to form one layer, and sprinkle half of the chocolate chips on the surface.


3. In a bowl, whisk egg, milk and sugar.


4. Pour half of the milk mixture onto the bread pieces, then place the remaining bread pieces on top, as a second layer.

5. Sprinkle the remaining chocolate chips on the surface, then pour the remaining milk mixture.


6. Leave aside for about 5–10 minutes, for it to be fully absorbed.

7. Bake for 20-30 minutes. Leave to cool for about 5-10 minutes. Serve with warm vanilla sauce.

For vanilla sauce:
1. Combine all of the ingredients, except the vanilla essence, in a saucepan over low heat, whisking constantly
until the mixture thickens, and coats the back of a spoon. I added the vanilla essence towards the end. Remove from heat, and serve alongside bread pudding.

Yummy when serve hot! For your guidance, I made one casserole and one silicon bread “tray”. Sorry I can’t find the appropriate name!

Overall I think if I add more chocolate chips it will be nicer? I made a slight mistake of not dividing the bread pudding milk mixture properly. Hence the top part of my pudding is a bit on a dry side and the bottom is on the wet side. Or maybe because I doubled up the ingredients and the milk mixture is too much? I have no idea hehe. But thanks to the vanilla sauce, everything taste more than fine to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

