Kek Tapak Kuda Nutella (Nutella Horse Shoe Cake)

14 Jan

Just so you know that today’s bake was a success!! 😀 Hooray!

I don’t understand my sudden cravings for Kek Tapak Kuda. Probably because I stumbled upon the recipe (and pictures, yum!) that I had long ago bookmarked? You see, I had planned to made them for the previous Raya but somehow I chickened out. The long list of ingredients and difficult steps made me scared.

Today, I brave through the storm (erk?!) and decided to make them before I take the short-cut and order them. heh heh.

I have decided to follow Bisous À Toi‘s recipes and the steps wise I followed both Bisous À Toi‘s and Oven Haven‘s. Though if you noticed and if you tracked down, both adapted the recipes/step from the same person (Puan Aini Salim)! Cool right? I’m impressed! 🙂

Ingredients
10 eggs yolks
5 egg white white
225g Castor sugar
110g plain flour or refined flour (I use the Hong Kong flour too)
10g milk powder or vanilla ice cream flour (I use milk powder)
135ml melted butter
1 tbsp sponge stabilizer / ovalette
1 tsp vanilla essence
1 tsp chocolate flavouring / emulco (I use chocolate* flavouring (!!))
1/2 tsp baking powder
Nutella for filling

I cut up to 137g of butter and after a round of microwaving, it became 135g = 135ml.

Method
1. Whisk eggs, sugar and ovalette at low speed and then to medium speed for about 8-10 mins, until thick and fluffy.

2. Add sifted flour, milk and baking powder and beat again till well mix.

After adding everything..it’s a little thicker than previous.

3. Add in the cool melted butter and vanilla essence, mix well.
4. Divide the batter into two (or 1/4 chocolate, 3/4 plain), and add chocolate flavouring/emulco to one half.

The chocolate*  flavoured layer.

5. Pour the chocolate batter evenly into a lined and greased 10-inch square pan (x 2 trays = 4 cakes).

6. Scoop the plain batter into a piping bag, and pipe the plain batter evenly over the chocolate batter, being careful not to mix the two.

7. Bake in a preheated oven at 180°C for 20-25 mins. (Mine baked for 20 mins.)

My standard operating procedure of staring at the oven.

I was afraid the colours will get mixed up!

Then..I became  more afraid if the batter overflows like crazy!

Then..it maintains. 🙂 But was still afraid about the colours getting married. Wahaha.

8. Remove cake from tray and spread Nutella.

You can put a lot of nutella but the rolling part and making sure the nutella stays will be tough.

9. Cut cake into two and roll into two tightly.

10. You can wrap with clingwrap and store in the fridge or if you’re greedy like me, cut them and eat. 🙂

Enjoy! 🙂

Sidetrack a little:
1) You see the * that I added after the word chocolate. Well, I thought that was the normal chocolate flavouring until I started to smell coffee. Double look: Chocolate & Mocha. What the hell was that!!! So slight coffee taste in my otherwise very successful cakes!

2) I straightaway eat one roll after rolling them. Heh. Difficult to cut them because the cake was still so soft and the nutella was oozing at every corner. Messy!! That’s why it is wise if you store them in the fridge for a little while. Be patient will ya?

3) Wait for the tray and cake to cool a little. Just a little. Don’t wait till it’s totally cool because if you do that, you will have cracks! Unsightly dude! (My mistake for second tray!)

Soooo, I can take orders for Raya now huh! Hahaha of course not! 🙂

24 Responses to “Kek Tapak Kuda Nutella (Nutella Horse Shoe Cake)”

  1. nadhirah August 11, 2012 at 23:48 #

    you use what size for the pan?

    • Liyanah August 12, 2012 at 01:34 #

      Hi Nadhirah,

      I used 10×10 inch pan for this. 🙂

  2. Nakayla August 12, 2012 at 20:19 #

    hey! the last tip is a good one 🙂 i made 4 trays and the last 3 CRACKED coz i was busy cooking for iftar and it became too cool…….. yes very unsightly 😦 i managed to do a few trays last year with good turn outs no cracks but i forgot to keep note of how i did it. realy thanks for the tip!!!!

    • Liyanah August 12, 2012 at 22:00 #

      Hey Nakayla, thanks! Woah 4 trays! I only made 2 trays and I was already tired. heh.

      Selamat berpuasa for the remaining days & Selamat Hari Raya in advance! 😀

  3. Jan October 15, 2012 at 16:35 #

    So, in a way, we have to fold the cake into half while it is hot then? 🙂

    • Liyanah October 15, 2012 at 20:48 #

      Hey Jan

      Yup! While it is still warm in order to prevent crack. All the best! 🙂

  4. dreamsandrants November 1, 2012 at 17:58 #

    Hiya,

    Thanks for sharing. Ive tried this a few times, and each time my cake cracks when rolling even when I rolled while still hot!! Any tips?

    • Liyanah November 15, 2012 at 18:04 #

      Hey,

      I’m sorry for the late reply! Oh no. Perhaps you can let it cool down a little? As in not too hot (straight from the oven) and not too cold kind. But if you did this and the cake still cracks then I’m really sorry I can’t think of any tips. 😦

  5. vincaaa_ June 27, 2013 at 09:07 #

    amazing recipe! good for raya coming up soon 🙂

  6. sha sha July 20, 2013 at 07:25 #

    Hi! Im wondering if my cake suddenly peel off on the upper side. Where should I place it after taking them out of the pan?

    • Liyanah July 21, 2013 at 05:54 #

      Hi Sha Sha,

      I usually put the cake on a clean cloth. Easier to roll too with the cloth. Hope this helps! 🙂

  7. hannah July 20, 2013 at 23:33 #

    hi there! i’ve tried making this earlier today but failed terribly…. my batter was way too runny. i can’t seem to get it thick and fluffy…….. could it be possible that i didn’t use a bigger mixer like yours?

    Your help would be gladly needed! Thanks dear!

    • Liyanah July 21, 2013 at 06:32 #

      Hi Hannah,

      Oh dear. Did you managed to get it thick and fluffy after the first step? You might underbeat it during the first step or overbeat it after adding the dry ingredients.

      Don’t give up! 🙂

  8. Suzy February 24, 2014 at 11:52 #

    Been following this recipe since I first made it. Nvr fail to receive compliments every time… Tq

  9. Ayesha June 30, 2014 at 12:29 #

    This looks so good! I’m gonna have to try these out!

    • Liyanah July 13, 2014 at 18:53 #

      Hi Ayesha! Please try and tell me how it is! 🙂

  10. dinah July 12, 2014 at 22:32 #

    hi, what is the brand of milk powder that you used? and where can I find it?

    • Liyanah July 13, 2014 at 18:50 #

      Hi Dinah, I used phoon huat’s milk powder. It came in phoon huat blue lif bottle. 🙂

  11. eyraah July 23, 2014 at 09:49 #

    The butter is salted or unsalted?

    • Liyanah July 23, 2014 at 14:56 #

      Hi Eyraah, so sorry but I cannot remember exactly. But both should be fine. 👌

  12. Jessrina June 4, 2015 at 05:19 #

    so I was scrolling through google results on Resepi Kek Tapak Kuda and I stumbled upon yours. would really want to try it since I have the sudden craves for kek tapak kuda. anyhow thankyou for sharing this. it might help me alot for my first time baking kek tapak kuda 😀

    • Liyanah June 28, 2015 at 14:55 #

      Hi Jessrina! Hope it was a success 👌🏽:)

  13. Nadiah June 28, 2015 at 14:17 #

    Hi, must the eggs be left at room temperature atau can just use the cold eggs from refrigerator?

    • Liyanah June 28, 2015 at 15:06 #

      Hi Nadiah, i have always used them at room temperature 🙂

Leave a Reply

