Mama’s: Apam Polkadot / Apam Funky

28 Jan

Mama and I (ahem) made these Apam Polkadot / Apam Funky yesterday. So similar to coconut blossom and we even used coconut for the fillings. We have been seeing these apam everywhere from facebook to blogs!

Apam Polkadot (recipe from Rozzan’s)

Ingredients
3 eggs – straight from the fridge
275g plain flour
220g castor sugar
150ml milk
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp ovalette / sponge stabilizer
fillings – blueberry / strawberry / nutella / coconut / etc
food colouring

Method
1. Add in all ingredients and beat with maximum speed (around 6-8 min) till fluffy.
2. Divide the batter and add food colouring accordingly.

Now you’re ready to do the piping!

3. Put in paper cup and pipe in the batter to act as base.

4. Then, add your fillings! Do not be too stingy. Heh.

5. Fill up the paper cup till 3/4 full to allow the batter to rise while baking later.

6. Now, let your imaginations run wild. πŸ™‚

You can dot them (Apam dot dot, hehe), zig zag them, smiley face them!

Our pink and green colourings are too light for my liking. Purple is nice!

“Chicken pox” apam. My creativity is pretty much limited.

The outcomes – *after steaming them for approx 10mins with medium heat. Can see the fillings for some.. Maybe we didn’t put enough batter. :S

Dot dot is slightly difficult to do. Zig zag is way faster.

Can you see my expanding heart? ❀

πŸ™‚

// Edit

Hey Everyone,

I have just remembered this baking shop:
Ailin Bakery House @ Tanjong Katong Complex #01-48, 845 Geylang Road, (S)400845

If I’m not wrong, they do sell the red casing.

And! I went to Gim Hin Lee/Bake King @ Block 10 Haig Road and I saw green colour casing. They are selling it at $1.20 for 12 pcs.

If you can’t get them, you can perhaps try to steam the cakes using normal sturdy cupcake liners?

26 Responses to “Mama’s: Apam Polkadot / Apam Funky”

  1. jo-lyn January 29, 2012 at 01:48 #

    These are adorable! What is ovalette?

    • Liyanah January 29, 2012 at 14:44 #

      Hi Jo-lyn!

      Yup very cute and easy to make too! πŸ™‚

      Ovalette is actually Sponge Cake Stabiliser.

      • jo-lyn January 29, 2012 at 22:23 #

        I see, so these are little sponge cakes….so cool!! Thnx!

  2. aishah January 30, 2012 at 12:55 #

    Hey There!! i just chance upon your blog!! Keep up the great baking work !! I’m also an amateur baker… =D
    Very detail recipes you got…. =D
    Love it…

    • jo-lyn January 30, 2012 at 13:35 #

      thnx! stop by anytime!! =)

    • Liyanah January 30, 2012 at 13:36 #

      Hi Aishah!

      Thank you for reading! πŸ™‚ I’ve my share of failures too, so not all are great. hehe.

      Anwy, happy baking! πŸ™‚

  3. fati's recipes February 4, 2012 at 21:39 #

    These are so cute. The best thing about them is that there’s no mess with the icing! πŸ™‚

    • Liyanah February 5, 2012 at 00:53 #

      Yup! And easy to make them too! πŸ™‚

  4. Charmaine November 18, 2012 at 10:54 #

    Hey do u live in sg ??? Just wanted to ask where do u get those red cups for steaming

    • Liyanah December 18, 2012 at 19:09 #

      Hi Charmaine!

      Apologised for the delay! I can’t remember where I bought them but Phoon Huat sells them as well.

  5. Kayy May 5, 2013 at 18:44 #

    Hi. Where do u bought the sponge stabiliZer?

    • Liyanah May 5, 2013 at 21:32 #

      Hey, sponge stabilizer can be found in Phoon Huat if you live in Singapore. It is also known as Ovalette. πŸ™‚

  6. Indabelle May 26, 2013 at 10:49 #

    Salam.

    Hi. Where can I get the small casings to hold the paper cups?

    Thank you.

    • Liyanah June 5, 2013 at 14:55 #

      Salam,

      I bought mine at Phoon Huat in Singapore. I saw baking supplies shop at Geylang sell them too but I forgot the name of the shop! Sorry!

  7. Janelle chan May 27, 2013 at 02:59 #

    Hi may I know where you got the red cups you put the cupcake liners in? And what are they called? Thanks in advance πŸ™‚

    • Liyanah June 5, 2013 at 14:56 #

      Hey,

      I just called them red casing/cups. I bought them at Phoon Huat outlet in Singapore. Some shops in Geylang sell them too but I forgot the name of the shop.

      • Charmaine September 30, 2013 at 00:52 #

        Which phoon huat outlet may I know that you got the red cups from? πŸ™‚

      • Liyanah September 30, 2013 at 18:59 #

        Hi Charmaine,

        I think all outlets sell them? Or maybe you can try calling the outlets if they have stock. I usually went to Phoon Huat in Marsiling though. πŸ™‚

      • Charmaine October 5, 2013 at 22:28 #

        I’ve went all over phoon huat outlets and they don’t have them 😦 Any idea where can I get it?

      • Liyanah October 6, 2013 at 18:43 #

        Hey Charmaine, I’m really sorry.. There are some baking supplies shop in Geylang but I don’t know the name of the shop and the exact location.

  8. FaFa July 20, 2013 at 13:03 #

    Hi there….may I know what type of milk you are using? Coconut milk?

    • Liyanah July 21, 2013 at 05:50 #

      Hi Fafa, I used normal fresh milk. πŸ™‚

  9. Joey October 18, 2013 at 19:42 #

    Hi, your cupcakes look fantastic! May I know which Phoon Huat outlets did you went to get those red casings? πŸ™‚

    • Liyanah October 18, 2013 at 21:20 #

      Hey Joey,

      I bought them a year or two ago. They came in red, blue and green btw.. I often go to Marsiling’s outlet but I have heard that many people can’t seem to find them in Phoon Huat. :/ sorry!

  10. yappyapx November 1, 2013 at 13:40 #

    hi! how many does this make approx? (:

    • Liyanah November 2, 2013 at 08:22 #

      Hi there,
      It’s been quite some time since I last made this. I can’t exactly remember. So sorry!

Leave a Reply

