Egg Tarts

19 Feb

Yay! Finally have the time to clear my must bake list! I have always looooove egg tarts! Always eat them daily during my kindergarten days. That and kuih bakar. heh. Nowadays, I always buy them once or twice or thrice a week. (I’m supposedly to be on a diet, hahaha!)

Anyway, today Egg Tarts are adapted from Aunty Yochana’s. I have edited them a little so please do check the original from her. πŸ™‚

Ingredients (This recipe makes 12-13 egg tarts)

For Pastry Crust:
100g salted butter
40g icing sugar
1 egg
20g milk powder
220g plain flour
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

For Egg Custard:
3 eggs
75g fine sugar
a pinch of salt
120g fresh milk
60g water
1 tsp vanilla essence

Method
1. In a mixer, mix all the ingredients for pastry crust together except egg using the ‘K’ beater. Beat a couple of times to mix till crumbly.

Top: my definition of crumbly & bottom: my definition of pliable dough.

2. Add in egg and mix till it becomes a pliable dough. Do not overmix otherwise pastry will create gluten and becomes tough.
3. Chill pastry for 20 mins in the fridge before pressing into tart mould.

4. Press pastry into tart moulds and cut off excess dough at the rim. Leave aside while preparing for egg custard.(This is also when I start to preheat the oven at 175C.)
5. Mix all the ingredients for egg custard together then sieve it.

6. Pour into prepared tarts and bake at 175C for about 20-40 mins. (I baked them at the second bottom shelf for 35 mins because after 20 mins my egg custard is still wobbly.)

In the oven:

After 20 mins:
Not so golden brown for the pastry and the custard still jiggly wobbly. So baked them again for 15 mins with intervals. I still have yet to learn and get my oven. 😦

*Note: I think it’s good if you could half bake the pastry first, then pour the custard and then bake them full. Anyway, enjoy! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

