Macarons with Chocolate Ganache & Caramel

20 Feb

Macarons again, heh. Supposedly, these are my Milo Macarons (see the Milo powder on the shells?). But somehow the milo taste is not there at all! I used the same recipe and I added 1 tablespoon of Milo. Perhaps, I should have added 1/2 cup instead? Still searching for Milo Macarons recipe..

Anyway, my main motive is to use up my caramel and chocolate ganache. I still have some ganache left so most likely I am making macarons again this weekend.  :S

For this batch, my macarons amazingly do not have pointy top! They are nicely flat, just the way I like them to look like! 😀

But of course, knowing me, there ought to be one or two (or three or four) problems right? Yup. Some of the shells are hollow though they did not stick to the mat or baking sheet.

From Food Nouveau:
Hollow shells

  • Overbeaten egg whites. For egg white pointers, see ‘What should the beaten egg whites look like?’ section above.
  • Shells resting for too long. A 20 to 40 minutes resting period is usually enough.
  • Oven temperature too high, preventing the insides to set, causing the meringue to collapse when the shells are taken out of the oven. It’s best to bake at a lower temperature (285 to 315°F [140 to 160°C], depending on your oven) for a longer period of time so that the shells cook slowly but consistently.

Hmm, my guess for my hollow problem is:- overbeaten egg white. Well, I will try again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

